Mixed media on German text

I began using some old books for mixed media experiments. Here are a few samples of art marking on an old German book I purchased from a university library sale. I really liked the old German typography, and I used various pastels, pencils, and paint to overlay visual interest while allowing the text to show through. Some pages I will rip out of the book and add to my collage art, some will stay in the book itself. It is convenient to work on a page in between other studio projects, and it’s always helpful to have interesting images lying around to use when needed.

white rock

 fern

 germanflowers

 german girl

mosaic

2 thoughts on “Mixed media on German text

Leave a Reply

