Gelli Plate printing in Composition Notebook

This morning I wanted to make some quick Gelli Plate printed pages in my composition notebook to see how much paint these thin pages could handle. I had started this notebook a few years ago, but I lost interest in working on the lined paper after having filled about 4 of them with collage and daily writing entries. I was drawn to this one because I had decorated the front cover with acrylics, and it looked so pretty sitting on my bookshelf. I think I was going to use this notebook for capturing free writing exercises, having been inspired by the book Poemcrazy. (love this book) Note to self… I must get back to those writing prompts and let the brain purge all these creative words that are floating around.

I am always amazed at how much stronger these thin, ruled pages become with the added layers of acrylics. The traditional sewn binding makes these school notebooks withstand the toughest art studio abuse. Here is a little photo sample of this morning’s printing adventure…

DSC_1004

Using some old sheet music to lift off extra colors and to have a place to wipe off the brayer.DSC_1003 Printing directly into the composition notebook.DSC_1001Styrofoam egg carton as a printing tool

DSC_0999DSC_0991Traditional black and white marble composition school notebook turned into an art and writing journal.

DSC_0990Homemade stamps. One cut out of folder stock. The other is a piece of cardboard with rubber bands wrapped around it.DSC_0988I painted the cover of my composition notebook with artist acrylics.
DSC_0982

Leave a Reply

