Art journal process in my Traveler’s notebook

I bought the 2 month, daily Midori insert (005) for January and February. Each day has a header along with a gridded page. Each day I am trying to create art, log about the events of the day, or use the space to write notes from my reading selections.

I decorate the pages using various stickers, rubber stamps, altered magazine images, and ink pads.

I found these alpha cling stamps at one of the craft stores (yes, I forgot which one). The clear acrylic blocks help me to keep the letters lined up well.

Stamping the finished lettering on an old atlas that had been printed several times on my Gelliplate.

Most of the time I used a simple glue stick for journal work. This one seems to do just fine, although there is a Craft Bond which I have used in the past too.

Inexpensive fountain pens can be purchased on Ebay. This one is a Jinhao with a fine point. I bought it some time ago, and cannot remember the specific number. I filled it with Noodler’s Lexington Gray that arrived in the mail the other day. The good think about this Lexington Gray ink is that it is waterproof. So if I needed to, I could go over the writing with watercolors.

I usually journal in a variety of books, but I guess my go-to choice is usually the Midori inserts. I enjoy the paper texture and the shape of the regular Traveler’s Notebook. For my sketchbooks and more painterly journals, I enjoy Stillman & Birn, Strathmore, and Canson brands. What are your favorite art journals and tools?

6 thoughts on “Art journal process in my Traveler’s notebook

  1. Laura says:

    I love this post! Once again, you are inspiring me! I am going to rework my blog (again). My blog has had several incarnations over many years, and intend to get back at it. It started as a knitting blog, then I journaled through breast cancer, then added art journaling. I love your in-progress pictures, and will try to write some posts like this! I just have to remember to stop and snap pictures along the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you. Because of your Instagram, I have purchased a Midori planner and am doing some bullet and art journal work.

    Thank you so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

